Press Release #35 (8/31/09)




As Final Rounds Approach, Leading South American National Team Contests Including Superteams Brazil & Argentina

are Now Available To Cable TV Customers Live on Pay-Per-View

New York, Aug. 31, 2009 - On Sept 5th and 9th, 2009, cable TV customers from around the country will have a chance to experience the decisive 15th and 16th rounds of qualifying matches that determine which national teams from South America will represent CONMEBOL in South Africa at the 2010 FIFA World Cup. These exciting contests will be presented by the major cable TV providers across the country to their soccer-enthusiast customers live on cable pay-per-view.

These critical rounds precede the final contests of the South American World Cup Qualifiers. Fans will enjoy seeing the traditional leaders, Brazil and Argentina (Sat., Sept. 5, 8:30PM ET), battle it out, but it's do or die for Ecuador and Uruguay, who are fighting to see if they go to South Africa or stay home next summer, while Chile and Paraguay will do everything in their power to keep their current positions of third and fourth place.

Cable systems began showing the live telecasts of the qualifying rounds last year, and will continue to offer the increasingly important key matches, live on pay-per-view, through the final decisive rounds in October. Cable Pay-Per-View gives customers the flexibility to choose the matches that they want to see, on television, in the comfort of their homes. Pricing for matches is either $29.99 or 34.99 per match. Prices may vary by market. Viewers should check with local cable operator.

The South American World Cup Qualifying matches are among the most important matches in the world because they feature top-ranked national teams and their internationally-acclaimed players including Brazil's Luis Fabiano who leads the confederation with seven goals scored, followed by Chile's Humberto Suazo (six goals) and Brazil's ever-popular Kaka with five goals, as well as the super-stars like Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and many more! The qualifiers are a series of rounds played over a period of 25 months, concluding in October. During these rounds, each of the ten South American national teams plays the other in a "home and home" format. The outcome determines which four South American national teams will earn an automatic place to represent the South America Confederation (CONMEBOL) at the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa.

These rounds will be played on Saturday, September 5 and Wednesday, September 9, 2009.

Below is a list of the live matches that will be telecast on pay-per-view in the next rounds*. All start times listed are Eastern Time. Future live telecasts will be announced later.

Saturday, September 5, 2009:

o Peru vs. Uruguay; 4:30 PM (ET)
o Colombia vs. Ecuador; 4:30 PM (ET)
o Argentina vs. Brazil; 8:30 PM (ET)
o Chile vs. Venezuela; 9:30 PM (ET)

Wednesday, September 9, 2009:

o Bolivia vs. Ecuador; 3:00 PM (ET)
o Uruguay vs. Colombia; 5:00 PM (ET)
o Paraguay vs. Argentina; 7:00 PM (ET)
o Brazil vs. Chile; 9:00 PM (ET)

*FIFA schedules are subject to change.

NOTE for New York Area writers: Cablevision, Comcast, RCN and Time Warner Cable are carrying these matches. For other areas, feel free to contact us to get more detail.

# # #

For more information, please contact

Back to all press releases


Movies On Demand on Cable
Howard TV
TNA: Sacrifice